China Announces Seven New Free Trade Zones, Signaling Intent to Diversify Economy

On August 31, Beijing passed approval for seven new Free Trade Zones (FTZs) to be established. With five of the seven to be located in the country’s central and western regions, the plans are indicative of China’s overall economic plan for the coming years.