China Public Holiday 2023 Schedule

Posted by Written by Qian Zhou Reading Time: 3 minutes

The State Council released the official China public holiday 2023 schedule through its Circular of the General Office of the State Council on the Arrangement of Public Holidays in 2023 (see here for the official source) on December 9, 2022.

As is traditional, the holiday schedule features two major week-long holidays (often referred to as ‘Golden Week’): Spring Festival (also known as Chinese New Year) and the National Day holiday.

In 2023, Spring Festival falls between January 21 and January 27, and the National Day holiday falls between September 29 and October 6, with the Mid-Autumn Festival happening during the same period.

Foreign human resource managers should note that Saturdays and Sundays are often marked as additional official workdays in China to compensate for long holiday breaks.

For example, in 2023, Saturday, January 28 and Sunday, January 29, are designated as official workdays to partially offset the seven days off for Spring Festival, and Saturday, October 7 and Sunday, October 8, are designated as official workdays to partially offset the seven days off for the National Day holiday, resulting two 7-day working days weeks.

Private companies in China, however, have the right to determine their own schedules – that is, allow for additional days off – so long as the official holiday calendar is maintained.

Official China public holiday 2023 schedule

New Year

  • December 31, 2022 to January 2, 2023 (three days in total;  Saturday to Monday)

Spring Festival (Chinese New Year)

  • January 21 to 27, 2023 (seven days in total; Saturday to Friday)
  • Adjusted working days: January 28, 2023 (Saturday) and January 29, 2023 (Sunday)

Tomb Sweeping Festival (Ching Ming Festival)

  • April 5, 2023 (one day in total; Wednesday)

Labor Day

  • April 29 to May 3, 2023 (five days in total; Saturday to Wednesday)
  • Adjusted working days: April 23, 2023 (Sunday) and May 6, 2023 (Saturday)

Dragon Boat Festival

  • June 22 to 24, 2023 (three days in total; Thursday to Saturday)
  • Adjusted working days: June 25, 2023 (Sunday)

Mid-Autumn Festival and National Day

  • September 29 to October 6, 2023 (eight days in total; Friday to Friday)
  • Adjusted working days: October 7, 2023 (Saturday) and October 8, 2023 (Sunday)

China Public Holiday 2023 Schedule

Date Name Type
December 31, 2022 Saturday New Year’s Holiday National holiday
January 1, 2023 Sunday New Year’s Holiday National holiday
January 2, 2023 Monday New Year’s Holiday National holiday
January 21, 2023 Saturday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 22, 2023 Sunday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 23, 2023 Monday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 24, 2023 Tuesday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 25, 2023 Wednesday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 26, 2023 Thursday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 27, 2023 Friday Spring Festival Holiday National holiday
January 28, 2023 Saturday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
January 29, 2023 Sunday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
March 8, 2023 Wednesday International Women’s Day Half-day holiday for female employee
April 5, 2023 Wednesday Tomb Sweeping Festival National holiday
April 23, 2023 Sunday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
April 29, 2023 Saturday Labor Day Holiday National holiday
April 30, 2023 Sunday Labor Day Holiday National holiday
May 1, 2023 Monday Labor Day Holiday National holiday
May 2, 2023 Tuesday Labor Day Holiday National holiday
May 3, 2023 Wednesday Labor Day Holiday National holiday
May 6, 2023 Saturday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
June 22, 2023 Thursday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 23, 2023 Friday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 24, 2023 Saturday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 25, 2023 Sunday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
September 29, 2023 Friday Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
September 30, 2023 Saturday Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
October 1, 2023 Sunday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 2, 2023 Monday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 3, 2023 Tuesday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 4, 2023 Wednesday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 5, 2023 Thursday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 6, 2023 Friday National Day Holiday National holiday
October 7, 2023 Saturday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend
October 8, 2023 Sunday Adjusted working day Working day on weekend

Related Reading:

China Public Holiday 2022 Schedule



About Us

China Briefing is written and produced by Dezan Shira & Associates. The practice assists foreign investors into China and has done so since 1992 through offices in Beijing, Tianjin, Dalian, Qingdao, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Ningbo, Suzhou, Guangzhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Shenzhen, and Hong Kong. Please contact the firm for assistance in China at china@dezshira.com.

Dezan Shira & Associates has offices in VietnamIndonesiaSingaporeUnited StatesGermanyItalyIndia, and Russia, in addition to our trade research facilities along the Belt & Road Initiative. We also have partner firms assisting foreign investors in The PhilippinesMalaysiaThailandBangladesh.